As I came to the end of my first year at university, a lot of people I had become close to were leaving, parting ways, moving on to the next step of life. It’s sad, and honestly I spent quite a while worrying about it happening year after year. Is this what life is now? Will I ever see my friends again? I questioned that, if I’m never going to see these people again are they truly my friends?

I’ve been in a few situations now where I’m with a specific group of people for a prolonged period of time, be it at home or abroad and one thing I’ve always struggled to get my head around was the concept of being so close to someone, or a group of people and then just…not.

Then it’s finally hit me. People come into our lives for a reason. Genuinely.

“I’ve heard it said,
That people come into our lives
For a reason
Bringing something we must learn.
And we are led to those
Who help us most to grow if we let them.
And we help them in return.
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you. “

– For Good, Wicked

I had honestly had the best year of my life during my first year. I made amazing memories, met brilliant people, danced and laughed and smiled more than I could have imagined. I learnt a lot from people, and yes, I knew I was going to miss those leaving but some people are only in your life for short periods of time and during those periods they have been your nearest and dearest. Value that. Value them. Hold onto those moments of uncontrollable laughter. Remember how they’ve changed you. Hold it all like a handprint on your heart, because that’s what true friends become, even when they are no longer around. Maybe it’s their time to teach someone else.

A word for the wise- It’s easy to begrudge life for taking things away from us, but very hard to appreciate that which we have had.

 

blog-sign